I’m Almost There

So I know I haven’t updated in what seems like forever (I had to actually check when the last post was.. October 24). I don’t want to say a lot has happened since but I can most definitely say that I’ve been crazy busy. Busy with work. Busy with class ..and you can believe that being tired and stressed is part of the daily grind. Why have I decided to update? Well, simply because I noticed that the counter for my blog does slowly increase meaning that someone out there is reading/following me! 

SO! Monday was the last day of Level 3 and it was by far the most intense level for me. The constant pressure to plate by a certain time makes me feel as if I was on ‘Chopped’ or something along the lines of competitive cooking. The midterm was yesterday and you can best believe that I was nervous ..I was actually already freaking out the night before but hey, ain’t nothing to it but to do it. The dishes I tackled? Consomme & Pork Chop (these weren’t the actual pictures of the dishes I made that night obviously. It was much better haha):

Overall, I’m pretty pleased with the grade I got. I passed. Moving onto Level 4 where I’ll be making family meals for the school/staff and everyone in between. Should be exciting despite how everyone keeps telling me it’s such a dramatic change from Level 3; gonna be S L O W . .  .   .

On another note, Thanksgiving just recently passed and what a holiday it is! This year, it was my first ever attempt at cooking Thanksgiving dinner and I gotta tell you guys, it was a SUCCESS for sure. They already got me cooking Christmas dinner haha. As crazy as it sounds, I didn’t actually eat Thanksgiving dinner with the family as I was so full from cooking.. This is a picture of my sister’s plate and as you can see, she’s straight BEASTING. 

From the top going clockwise: I made a simple Glazed Carrots with Brussels Sprouts sauteed in bacon fat. Turkey with a Orange & Cinnamon Cranberry Sauce. Sticky rice (grandma made). Green Bean Casserole. Mashed Potatoes with Turkey gravy ..seriously to die for. Creamed Corn with Bacon, Fried Shallots, & Green Onions. Rice Pilaf. Also, some Shrimp in the middle of the plate next to TWO leg of lambs I marinated with garlic cloves, mustard, & rosemary.

BEFORE I FORGET! Let me take a quick second and be all sappy here. I’m extremely thankful for my family for all their support in my decision in attending culinary school. That’s for sure. I don’t think I could do it without my parents backing me up on this. Second, to my friends. I don’t have a large circle of friends and I’m alright with that but the people that I surround myself with, you guys are simply awesome. I’ve learned this year that friends do come and go and it’s up to you to keep that relationship tight if want that person in your life. Alright. No more. I told one of my friends this and she got all sappy. Better to do it over the internet where the world wide web sees it is better I guess..? LOL

– ANYWAY – 

Needless to say that this Thanksgiving dinner with the family was followed by TWO more in the next two days. 

Second Thanksgiving? Made a simple Roasted Chicken. Aromatics inside the cavity was one head of garlic, lemon, thyme & seasoned well with salt/pepper. Made a compound butter with leftover thyme and rubbed that in between the breast and skin. Yum.

 
OH! And had this crazy as delicious dessert; Log Cake with Whipped Cream and Strawberries. I DEFINITELY need this recipe.

By the time for the THIRD Thanksgiving dinner, I was already too full from the past two days. I just made some mashed potatoes haha xD

Upcoming plans for the end of the year?! STRAIGHT KILLING it in school (if any of my classmates read this, you know what the deal is you GWAI LO’S xD) Hustlin’ @ work. I have this AMAZING friend coming into town next week = Kickin’ it with her and being all touristy ..whatcha know about that? andddd if the weather permits, shredding the slopes with the guys ..but with what felt like SPRING weather a couple of days ago, I doubt snow is in the forecast for NYC.

In this last month of the year, I’m glad that it’s coming to an end. This year is one to remember but also one to forget. I’ll leave you guys with this, tell the people who are important in your life how much you appreciate/love them. Why? Simply because.

Leave a Reply

